RES701 – Finding Academic Articles (That don’t cost)

Finding Academic Articles

Finding Academic Articles that don’t require paying to gain access to the document, within the category that you are looking for, is hard. I found that I had to be very selective on the links I went to. Conference Papers were the main sources as they are mostly available to the public free of charge.
I had two documents but after reviewing them a bit more in depth I found that they didn’t meet the standard that I was looking for. After recently writing a new personal blog I found a new area to explore with more papers focusing on the same topic. This is where I found my Article 1. Article 2 was found after changing my search phrase and being very selective on the links I clicked on. I found a lot of NFC papers that didn’t meet the length requirements.

Article 1NSA Surveillance: Exploring the Geographies of Internet Interception

Title;
NSA Surveillance: Exploring the Geographies of Internet Interception

Author of the article;
Andrew Clement

APA reference;
Clement, A. (2014). NSA Surveillance: Exploring the Geographies of Internet Interception. iConference 2014 Proceedings.

How you found the article and what keywords you used?;
Found it using Google Scholar. The keywords used were “XKEYSCORE analyes”

What kind of article it is?;
It is a conference paper from iConference

All the reasons that you think it is an academic article;
It fits with most of the criteria that defines an academic article. It has an author listed as well as their contact information, an abstract, an introduction, a list of references, a series of questions that are to be answered and a discussion. It reviews work by others and draws from reliable resources and documents.  It is missing a clear conclusion though.

How many references it has?;
42 total. 29 of those are footnotes on the relevant pages.

How many citations it has?;
Google Scholar showed 2. 

Am  I interested in properly reading the article or not?;
Yes I am. If you read my blog post 
Personal Thoughts – Citizenfour and NSA spying then you will see that recently I watched a documentary based around the topics this paper covers. The documentary covers the story of Edward Snowden, who is mentioned in this paper. I have skim read parts of the paper and it covers sections and questions that I have not yet explored. I am interested in reading it to gain more knowledge in this subject.

Article 2Current Benefits and Future Directions of NFC Services 

Title;
Current Benefits and Future Directions of NFC Services

Authors of the article;

  • Kerem OK
  • Vedat COSKUN
  • Mehmet N. AYDIN
  • Busra OZDENIZCI

APA reference;
Ok, K., Coskun, V., Aydin, M. N., & Ozdenizci, B. (2010, November). Current benefits and future directions of NFC services. In Education and Management Technology (ICEMT), 2010 International Conference on (pp. 334-338). IEEE.

How you found the article and what keywords you used?;
Found it using Google Scholar. The keywords used were “NFC tags in education”

What kind of article it is?;
The source I found was published in ICEMT 2010 Conference, 2-4 November 2010. So a conference paper I believe.

All the reasons that you think it is an academic article;
It fits with most of the criteria that defines an academic article. It has an authors listed as well as their contact information, an abstract, an introduction, a list of references and keywords, a series of questions that are to be answered and a conclusion. It is within the word range, just. It works through a series of steps laid out in the introduction to come to the conclusion. It is missing a clear discussion section and I dosent really review other papers.

How many references it has?;
56 although these are listed in a separate document on a website. 

How many citations it has?;
Google Scholar showed 47. 

Am  I interested in properly reading the article or not?;
I came up with an idea that uses NFC tags but I have little knowledge on how they work and how they have been implemented in the past. This paper explains both of these aspects in detail. It also included modes of use and the security aspects of these modes, something that I am yet to explore. For these reasons I believe I will read this article. 

Leave a Reply

